ECAH2023 Overview

Join us in London (and online) for ECAH2023!

July 13–17, 2023 | Held at SOAS & University College London, UK

Held in partnership with University College London (UCL), Birkbeck, University of London and the University of Sussex, this international conference encourages academics and scholars to meet and exchange ideas and views in a forum stimulating respectful dialogue, by bringing together university scholars working in the UK, Europe, and beyond to share ideas and research. This event will afford an exceptional opportunity for renewing old acquaintances, making new contacts, networking, and facilitating partnerships across national and disciplinary borders.

Since its founding in 2009, IAFOR has brought people and ideas together in a variety of events and platforms to promote and celebrate interdisciplinary study, and underline its importance. Over the past year we have engaged in many cross-sectoral projects, including those with universities (the University of Barcelona, Hofstra University, UCL, University of Belgrade and Moscow State University), think tanks (the East-West Center), as well as collaborative projects with the United Nations in New York, and the Government of Japan through the Prime Minister’s office, and right here in London with University College London (UCL), Birkbeck, University of London and the University of Sussex, for this conference!

With the IAFOR Research Centre at the Osaka School of International Public Policy (OSIPP) at Osaka University, we have engaged in a number of interdisciplinary initiatives we believe will have an important impact on domestic and international public policy conversations. It is through conferences like these that we expand our network and partners, and we have no doubt that ECAH2023 will offer a remarkable opportunity for the sharing of research and best practice, for the meeting of people and ideas. We expect the resultant professional and personal collaborations to endure for many years!

The 11th European Conference on Arts & Humanities (ECAH2023) is an interdisciplinary conference held alongside The 11th European Conference on Education (ECE2023) and The 11th European Conference on Language Learning (ECLL2023). Registration for any of these conferences will allow delegates to attend sessions in the others.

In conjunction with our Global Partners, including University College London (UCL), Birkbeck, University of London and the University of Sussex, we look forward to meeting you in London (and online) for ECAH2023.

– The ECAH2023 Programme Committee

Key Information
  • Venue & Location: University College London (UCL), Institute of Education, UK
  • Dates: Thursday, July 13, 2023 ​to Monday, July 17, 2023
  • Early Bird Abstract Submission Deadline: February 24, 2023*
  • Final Abstract Submission Deadline: April 28, 2023
  • Registration Deadline for Presenters: May 31, 2023

*Submit early to take advantage of the discounted registration rates. Learn more about our registration options.

Back to Top


Back to Top


Back to Top

Conference Committees

Global Programme Committee

Dr Joseph Haldane, Chairman and CEO, IAFOR
His Excellency Professor Toshiya Hoshino, Osaka University, Japan
Professor Barbara Lockee, Virginia Tech., United States
Professor Donald E. Hall, Binghamton University, United States
Dr James W. McNally, University of Michigan, United States & NACDA Program on Aging
Professor Haruko Satoh, Osaka University, Japan
Dr Grant Black, Chuo University, Japan
Professor Dexter Da Silva, Keisen University, Japan
Professor Gary Swanson, University of Northern Colorado, United States
Professor Baden Offord, Curtin University, Australia
Professor Frank Ravitch, Michigan State University, United States
Professor William Baber, Kyoto University, Japan

Members of the IAFOR Board of Directors and The Academic Governing Board are standing members of the Global Programme Committee. Members of the IAAB are consultative members.

Back to Top

Conference Programme Committee

Professor Kwame Akyeampong, University of Sussex, United Kingdom
Professor Anne Boddington, Kingston University, United Kingdom
Professor Bruce Brown, Royal College of Art, United Kingdom
Matthew Coats, University of Brighton, United Kingdom
Dr Mehmet Demir, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
Professor Jean-Marc Dewaele, Birkbeck, University of London, United Kingdom
Dr Joseph Haldane, The International Academic Forum (IAFOR), Japan
Professor Donald E. Hall, Binghamton University, United States
Dr Jo Van Herwegen, University College London (UCL), United Kingdom
Dr Tamsin Hinton-Smith, University of Sussex, United Kingdom
Professor Barbara Lockee, Virginia Tech, United States
Dr James Rowlins, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
Professor Gary E. Swanson, University of Northern Colorado, USA (fmr.)

Back to Top

IAFOR International Academic Advisory Board

Arts & Humanities Section

Professor Umberto Ansaldo, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Dr Yutaka Mino, Hyogo Prefectural Museum of Art, Japan
Dr Thanassis Rikakis, University of Southern California, USA
Dr Linda Schwartz, Ambrose University, Canada
Dr Richard Donovan, Kansai University, Japan
Professor Donald E. Hall, Binghamton University, United States
Professor Anne Boddington, Kingston University, UK
Lord Charles Bruce, Japan Society of Scotland, UK
Professor Chung-Ying Cheng, University of Hawai’i at Manoa, USA
Professor Georges Depeyrot, French National Center for Scientific Research, France
Professor Said M. Faiq, American University of Sharjah, UAE
Dr Alfonso J. García Osuna, Hofstra University, USA
Dr A. Robert Lee, Nihon University, Japan (retd.)
Professor Jeffrey Sommers, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Dr Drago Štambuk, Croatian Ambassdor to Iran
Dr Brian Victoria, Oxford Centre for Buddhist Studies, UK

Back to Top

Conference Review Committee

IAFOR's peer review process, which involves both reciprocal review and the use of Review Committees, is overseen by conference Organising Committee members under the guidance of the Academic Governing Board. Review Committee members are established academics who hold PhDs or other terminal degrees in their fields and who have previous peer review experience.

If you would like to apply to serve on the ECAH2023 Review Committee, please visit our application page.

Back to Top